Independent · Not affiliated with NHTSA or any automaker MethodologyData sourcesData refreshed Oct 6, 2026
Safety & recalls

Vehicle Seat Recalls: Seat Backs, Power Seats, Fire Risk

703 NHTSA recalls cover vehicle seats. See the largest by cause, the Kia Telluride fire recall, 2026 seat recalls, repair rates and what to do.

By the PlainVIN Recalls & Safety DeskChecked against primary sources
Published 13 min read

Researched by Daniel B. and Olivia C. Technical check by Ethan B. Edited by Sophia M.. Our team AI-use disclosure

Black 2021 Toyota Highlander Hybrid SUV parked on a street, seen from the front left
Photo: crash71100, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons (license plates blurred).

Key takeaways

  • NHTSA’s file holds 703 recalls filed first under seats, covering 22.0 million vehicles; 71% are reported repaired. Most are about seat backs that may not hold in a crash, power seats and loose or broken seat frames.
  • Seat recalls are busy in 2026: Toyota’s Highlander second-row seat backs (26V128), Kia’s Telluride power seat fire recall (26V430), Ford’s Explorer and Aviator second-row seats (26V451) and driver’s seat (26V470) and Hyundai’s and Cadillac’s power rear seats that can trap a person (26V160, 26V394).
  • The Kia Telluride is on its second recall for the same fire risk. The 2024 repair (24V407) was reported 85% complete, yet the 2026 recall says an improper repair can still lead to overheating, and Kia advises owners to park outside until it is fixed.
  • If a seat back reclines or moves on its own, or smells hot, stop using that seat, and check your VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls. Recall repairs are free.

A seat that reclines on its own, slides forward in a hard stop or overheats can hurt the person in it, and NHTSA’s recall file holds hundreds of recalls for exactly these faults. This guide covers vehicle seats (not child car seats, which are handled as separate equipment recalls). It uses NHTSA’s recall and complaint files to show which vehicles have been recalled for seat backs, power seats and seat frames, what failed, and how many remain unrepaired.

Seat recalls: the big picture

703recalls filed under NHTSA’s seats category
22.0 millionvehicles potentially affected
71%reported repaired
166of them name a seat back or recliner

We count a recall when NHTSA files it first under “seats.” Within those, 166 mention a seat back or recliner, 127 a power, sliding or easy-entry seat, 46 a head restraint, 21 a seat that can trap or pinch a person and 17 a fire or overheating risk (a recall can fall in more than one group). Here is who they belong to, for 2014 onward:

Seat recalls by automaker, 2014 to date
AutomakerCampaignsVehicles potentially affectedRepaired (vehicle-weighted)Est. not yet repaired
Ford212,444,90864%711,316
Honda101,710,15681%328,549
Toyota111,455,01355%345,165
Kia61,036,11278%124,317
General Motors18688,24582%119,426
Stellantis (FCA US)14195,73065%69,437
Mazda2183,28939%111,819
Daimler Truck1694,97774%24,342

“Repaired” weights each campaign’s reported completion rate by its vehicle count; “not yet repaired” is the matching estimate. A vehicle in several campaigns is counted in each. Source: NHTSA recalls file and US DOT completion data, retrieved Oct 6, 2026; computed by PlainVIN.

Ford has the most seat recalls and the largest estimated number still unrepaired. Toyota’s weighted repair rate (55%) trails Ford’s, Honda’s, Kia’s and GM’s, and Toyota’s newest seat recall (26V128) has no completion rate yet.

The largest seat recalls

These are the biggest seat campaigns in NHTSA’s file, old and new, with repair rates where the automaker reported one. Rows without a rate are older campaigns, or ones still being rolled out.

What failed and which recalls cover it: the largest seat recalls
What can fail Recall Vehicles covered Units Repaired
Recliner bolt may fracture (driver’s high-back seat) Ford 03V281 (2003) Certain SUVs with high-back seats 1,552,880 not reported
Recliner bolt may break, seat back reclines DaimlerChrysler 03V035 (2003) Certain passenger vehicles 1,066,000 not reported
Second-row seat can tip forward when braking Honda 17V725 (2017) 2011–2017 Odyssey 806,936 80%
Second-row seat back may fail to lock Toyota 26V128 (2026) 2021–2025 Highlander, Highlander Hybrid 686,588 not reported
Recliner may be missing a pawl, reduced seat back strength Ford 19V633 (2019) 2018–2020 F-150 and Super Duty, 2018–2020 Explorer, Expedition, Escape and others 639,137 78%
Second-row outboard seats may stay unlocked Honda 16V933 (2016) 2011–2016 Odyssey 633,753 81%
Power seat motor may overheat and burn Kia 26V430 (2026) 2020–2024 Telluride 462,869 not reported
Easy-entry second-row seat may move unexpectedly Ford 26V451 (2026) 2020–2027 Aviator, 2020–2026 Explorer 387,911 not reported
Loose seat frame pivot bolt Ford 26V268 (2026) 2024–2026 Ranger, Bronco 179,698 34%
Seat back frame may fail to restrain occupant Kia 26V105 (2026) 2025 Telluride with power front seats 85,515 38%

Source: NHTSA recalls file and US DOT completion data, retrieved Oct 6, 2026; table compiled by PlainVIN from each campaign’s record.

Seat backs and recliners that may not hold

A seat back is the part that holds an occupant in place in a rear impact. The recall records describe two kinds of failure: a recliner that lets the seat back move when it should not, and a seat back that is too weak to hold in a crash.

  • Fractured or broken bolts. Ford’s 2003 recall says the upper bolt that attaches the seat recliner mechanism to the seat back frame “could fracture” on the driver’s side, and that the seat back may then recline until it hits an object behind it. The consequence NHTSA lists is that the driver could lose contact with the steering wheel or pedals. DaimlerChrysler’s 2003 recall describes the same outcome, a seat back reclining unexpectedly.
  • A missing part. Ford’s 2019 recall (19V633) says manual recliner mechanisms in several trucks and SUVs may be missing the third pawl required for seat back strength, so the seat may not adequately restrain an occupant in a crash. Dealers inspect and replace the seat structure as necessary.
  • Springs that don’t lock. For the 2021–2025 Highlander (26V128), the recall says second-row seat backs may fail to lock into position during adjustment. Dealers will replace the return springs in the recliner assemblies, and Toyota’s owner letters were mailed September 9, 2026 as part of a phased recall.
  • A frame that fails. Kia’s 2025 Telluride recall (26V105) says a manufacturing error may leave the driver and passenger seat back frames unable to restrain occupants. Only about 38% were reported repaired.
Largest seat back and recliner recalls since 2020
FiledVehicles (NHTSA wording)ProblemUnitsRepaired
Mar 2026
26V128000
Certain 2021-2025 Highlander and Highlander Hybrid vehiclesSecond-Row Seat Backs May Fail to Lock686,588–
Feb 2025
25V086000
Certain 2021-2025 Sienna Hybrid vehiclesLoose Third-Row Seatback Bolts/FMVSS 202167,80280%
Feb 2026
26V105000
Certain 2025 Telluride vehicles, equipped with power front seat(s)Front Seat Back Frames May Fail85,51538%
Jul 2026
26V470000
Certain 2025-2027 Explorer and Lincoln Aviator vehiclesDriver's Seat May Recline Unexpectedly76,748–
Sep 2022
22V732000
Certain 2021 AMG GLS63, 2020-2022 GLS450 and GLS580 vehiclesSeatback Lock Failure59,57481%
Sep 2021
21V743000
Certain 2022 Pathfinder vehiclesSecond-Row Seat Back Weld May Separate5,89597%
Aug 2020
20V505000
Certain 2020 Volkswagen Atlas Cross Sport, Jetta, Jetta GLI and Tiguan and Audi Q5 and SQ5 and 2021 Volkswagen Atlas vehiclesFront Seat Backrest Frame Not Welded Properly5,37698%
Aug 2024
24V573000
Certain 2023 Dodge Challenger vehiclesSeat May Not Lock into Upright Position//FMVSS 2072,85265%
Apr 2021
21V302000
Certain 2021 Elantra vehiclesSeat Back Recliners Improperly Welded1,46498%
Jun 2020
20V328000
Certain 2020 E450, AMG E63S, GLC300, AMG GLC43, AMG GLC63, AMG GT53, and AMG GT63 vehicles equipped with rear seatbacks that can be electrically unlatchedLeft Rear Seat Back Electric Latch May Fail1,35298%

Vehicle descriptions are NHTSA’s own summary wording; “repaired” is the share the manufacturer reports as fixed, and new campaigns start near zero. Source: NHTSA recalls file and US DOT completion data, retrieved Oct 6, 2026.

Second-row seats that unlatch or tip

Minivans and three-row SUVs have second-row seats that slide or fold for access, and several recalls cover latches that do not hold. Honda’s Odyssey has two of the largest: the 2016 recall (16V933) says the release lever on the second-row outboard seats may remain unlocked so the seats move unexpectedly, and the 2017 recall (17V725) says a seat placed between its two positions will not latch to the striker and can tip forward when braking. Honda’s repair was an added bracket (and a spring in the 2016 recall) for the second-row outboard seats. Ford’s July 2026 recall (26V451) covers the 2020–2027 Aviator and 2020–2026 Explorer, where the easy-entry switch may stick and let the seats unlatch, tip or slide. Ford’s 26V470 recall adds that an unoccupied driver’s seat may recline unintentionally during remote unlock or remote start, which may trap a second-row occupant.

Silver Honda Odyssey minivan parked at a curb, seen from the rear right
The 2011–2017 Honda Odyssey has two large recalls for second-row seats that may unlock or tip (16V933, 17V725). Photo: OSX, public domain, via Wikimedia Commons (license plate blurred).

Power seats: fires and entrapment

Power seats add motors, switches and wiring, and the recalls follow from that.

  • Fire. Kia’s 2024 recall (24V407) said the front power seat motor of 2020–2024 Telluride vehicles may overheat because of a stuck slide knob, causing a fire while parked or driving. The repair was a bracket for the switch covers and new slide knobs, and 85% were reported repaired. In July 2026 Kia filed a second recall (26V430) for the same vehicles, saying the motor may overheat because of a stuck knob or an improper 24V407 repair. The remedy is a new electronic fuse assembly, owner letters were expected from August 13, 2026, and owners are advised to park outside and away from structures until repaired. See our park-outside recall list.
  • Entrapment. Hyundai’s 2026 Palisade recall (26V160) says the second- and third-row power seats may fail to detect a person and keep moving during one-touch tilt-and-slide or power fold-and-stow. GM’s Cadillac Vistiq recall (26V394) says the third-row power seatback may fail to reverse when it meets a person; the repair is a software update.

“A person, especially a child, may become trapped by a rear powered seat, increasing the risk of injury or death.”NHTSA recall record 26V160, Hyundai Palisade, nhtsa.gov

Hyundai’s record advises owners to exercise caution with the second and third row power seat functions and to keep children out of the rear seats and rear seating area during power folding until the repair is done. Hyundai’s repair was already reported 95% complete.

Loose bolts and broken frames

Not every seat recall involves a moving part. Ford’s April 2026 recall (26V268) says the front seats of 2024–2026 Ranger and Bronco vehicles may have a loose or dislodged seat frame height-adjust pivot bolt, so the seat may not restrain an occupant in a crash; dealers inspect and replace the pivot links and bolts. Older recalls include a 1989 Ford recall for a seat track pedestal that could suffer fatigue fracture (89V170, 1,375,500 vehicles) and a 1987 GM recall for a floor anchor bar around the seat adjuster stud (87V079), a reminder that the weak point is often the hardware that holds the seat to the floor.

Largest power, sliding and easy-entry seat recalls since 2022
FiledVehicles (NHTSA wording)ProblemUnitsRepaired
Jul 2026
26V430000
Certain 2020-2024 Telluride vehiclesFire from Overheated Power Seat Motors462,869–
Jun 2024
24V407000
Certain 2020-2024 Telluride vehiclesFire from Overheated Power Seat Motor462,86985%
Jul 2026
26V451000
Certain 2020-2027 Aviator and 2020-2026 Explorer vehiclesSecond-Row Seat May Move Unexpectedly387,911–
Jun 2025
25V393000
Certain 2020-2025 Aviator, and Explorer vehiclesSecond-Row Seat May Move Unexpectedly304,66264%
Mar 2026
26V160000
Certain 2026 Palisade and 2026 Palisade Hybrid vehicles equipped with a Limited or Calligraphy trim packagePower Rear Seats May Trap a Person61,30795%
Apr 2022
22V278000
Certain 2020-2021 Taycan vehiclesDriver and Passenger Seat Wire Harness Damage9,57098%
Mar 2025
25V153000
Certain 2025 Sentra vehiclesImproperly Secured Seat Frame /FMVSS 207 & 21019993%
Feb 2022
22V111000
Certain 2022 INFINITI QX60 and Nissan Pathfinder vehiclesSecond-Row Seat Track Missing Bolt/FMVSS 21021100%

Vehicle descriptions are NHTSA’s own summary wording; “repaired” is the share the manufacturer reports as fixed, and new campaigns start near zero. Source: NHTSA recalls file and US DOT completion data, retrieved Oct 6, 2026.

Seat complaints: which cars and years

NHTSA also records owner complaints under a “seats” category. It does not say which part failed, but it shows where owners report seat trouble.

27,128owner complaints filed under seats
1.8%of all complaints in our file

Jeep Grand Cherokee5.6%Nissan Murano22.8%Ford Explorer2.0%Honda Accord2.4%Dodge Durango4.0%Chrysler Town and Country3.5%Volkswagen Jetta3.8%Chevrolet Malibu1.9%Dodge Grand Caravan2.6%Ford F-1500.9%
Share of each model's owner complaints that name the seats, for the 10 models with the most such complaints. Source: NHTSA owner complaints file, retrieved Oct 6, 2026; chart by PlainVIN.

Model years with the most owner complaints naming the seats
VehicleComplaints naming itShare of that year’s complaints
2005 Nissan Murano45646%
2006 Nissan Murano40250%
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee33814%
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee31423%
2007 Nissan Murano22133%
2025 Toyota Sienna Hybrid21279%
2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee19213%
2014 Dodge Durango16321%
2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee14912%
2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee14215%
2003 Nissan Murano11114%
2010 Mazda Mazda310615%
2003 Volkswagen Jetta10122%
2002 Volkswagen Jetta10114%

Source: NHTSA owner complaints file, retrieved Oct 6, 2026; computed by PlainVIN.

Counts follow sales, so high-volume models rank high; the share column compares model years more fairly. Two patterns stand out. The 2025 Toyota Sienna Hybrid has the highest share by far, and it matches two recalls: loose third-row seatback bolts on 2021–2025 Sienna Hybrids (25V086, 167,802 vehicles, filed February 2025) and improperly welded second-row seat rails on 2025 models (25V668, 54,631 vehicles, October 2025). The 2003–2007 Nissan Murano shows the opposite: it has some of the highest complaint counts and shares, yet we found no seat recall for it in NHTSA’s file, which is a reason to check those seats in person rather than evidence of a defect. A year with many complaints and no recall is worth testing before you buy: sit in every seat, recline each seat back and let it spring forward, slide the second-row seats and check that they latch.

Seat recalls in 2026

This year’s seat recalls are the most concentrated on power features:

  • 26V105 (February): 85,515 2025 Telluride, seat back frames.
  • 26V128 (March): 686,588 2021–2025 Highlander and Highlander Hybrid, second-row seat backs may fail to lock.
  • 26V160 (March): 61,307 2026 Palisade and Palisade Hybrid, power rear seats may trap a person.
  • 26V268 (April): 179,698 2024–2026 Ranger and Bronco, loose seat frame bolt.
  • 26V394 (June): 14,540 2026–2027 Cadillac Vistiq, third-row power seatback may trap an occupant.
  • 26V430 (July): 462,869 2020–2024 Telluride, power seat motor fire.
  • 26V451 and 26V470 (July): Ford Explorer and Aviator second-row seats and driver’s seat.
Seat recalls filed in 2026
FiledVehicles (NHTSA wording)ProblemUnitsRepaired
Mar 2026
26V128000
Certain 2021-2025 Highlander and Highlander Hybrid vehiclesSecond-Row Seat Backs May Fail to Lock686,588–
Jul 2026
26V430000
Certain 2020-2024 Telluride vehiclesFire from Overheated Power Seat Motors462,869–
Jul 2026
26V451000
Certain 2020-2027 Aviator and 2020-2026 Explorer vehiclesSecond-Row Seat May Move Unexpectedly387,911–
Apr 2026
26V268000
Certain 2024-2026 Ranger and Bronco vehiclesLoose Bolt in Front Seat Frame179,69834%
Feb 2026
26V105000
Certain 2025 Telluride vehicles, equipped with power front seat(s)Front Seat Back Frames May Fail85,51538%
Jul 2026
26V470000
Certain 2025-2027 Explorer and Lincoln Aviator vehiclesDriver's Seat May Recline Unexpectedly76,748–
Mar 2026
26V160000
Certain 2026 Palisade and 2026 Palisade Hybrid vehicles equipped with a Limited or Calligraphy trim packagePower Rear Seats May Trap a Person61,30795%
Mar 2026
26V120000
Certain 2026 Lincoln Navigator vehiclesDriver's Seat May Move Unexpectedly1,18972%
Jan 2026
26V037000
Certain 2025 Polestar 3 vehiclesLoose Rear Seat Backrest/FMVSS 20721346%
Jan 2026
26V054000
Certain 2023 Honda Accord, Accord Hybrid, and 2024 HR-V, Pilot, and Acura Integra vehiclesDriver's Seat Frame Improperly Tightened/FMVSS 2073238%

Vehicle descriptions are NHTSA’s own summary wording; “repaired” is the share the manufacturer reports as fixed, and new campaigns start near zero. Source: NHTSA recalls file and US DOT completion data, retrieved Oct 6, 2026.

What to do if your seat has a problem

  1. Stop using the seat if the seat back moves on its own, will not lock, or a seat slides or tips. Do not put anyone, especially a child, in it.
  2. Smell or smoke from under a seat: stop, get everyone out and keep away from the car. For a recalled Telluride follow Kia’s park-outside advice.
  3. Check your VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls or with our VIN decoder. Repairs are free, and some phased recalls start with an interim letter.
  4. Ask about earlier repairs. The Telluride shows a repair can fail, so ask the dealer to confirm what was done and whether a newer recall applies.
  5. Report it, even if it is fixed: see our guide to filing a complaint.

For the belts that go with the seats see our seat belt guide, for air bags in the seat air bag problems, and for the wider picture our most common car problems guide.

Complaint and recall figures are PlainVIN’s analysis of NHTSA’s files and update when we refresh the data; complaints are owner reports, not verified defects. “Reported repaired” is the automaker’s figure. This guide is general information, not mechanical advice for a specific vehicle.

Frequently asked questions

Can a car seat back recline or collapse by itself?

Yes. NHTSA’s file holds 166 recalls that name a seat back or recliner. Ford’s 2003 recall (03V281) covered a recliner bolt that could fracture so the seat back reclined, and Ford’s 2019 recall (19V633) covered recliners that may be missing a pawl needed for seat back strength.

Which cars have had seat recalls in 2026?

Toyota Highlander second-row seat backs (26V128), Kia Telluride power seat fire (26V430) and seat back frames (26V105), Ford Explorer and Aviator second-row seats (26V451) and driver’s seat (26V470), Ford Ranger and Bronco seat frame bolt (26V268), Hyundai Palisade power rear seats (26V160) and Cadillac Vistiq third-row seatback (26V394).

Is the Kia Telluride power seat fire recall serious?

Kia says the front power seat motor may overheat and cause a fire while parked or driving, and advises owners to park outside and away from structures until repaired. The 2026 recall (26V430) follows the 2024 recall (24V407) because an improper repair can still lead to overheating.

Can a power seat trap a child?

Recalls say it can. Hyundai’s 2026 Palisade recall (26V160) and GM’s Cadillac Vistiq recall (26V394) cover rear power seats that may fail to detect or reverse for a person. Keep children out of the rear seating area while power seats fold or slide.

How many vehicles have had seat recalls?

NHTSA’s file lists 703 recalls filed first under seats, covering about 22.0 million vehicles, with 71% reported repaired. Some vehicles are in more than one recall.

Are seat recall repairs free?

Yes. The automaker pays for repairs under a safety recall, for example new return springs for the Highlander, a bracket for Honda Odyssey seats or software for the Cadillac Vistiq. Check your VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

Do child car seat recalls appear here?

No. This guide covers seats installed in vehicles. Child restraints are filed as equipment recalls; check them at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

About the PlainVIN Recalls & Safety Desk

This desk covers recall campaigns and completion rates, owner complaints filed with NHTSA, and NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings.

Every figure in this guide links to its primary source. See our editorial policy, how we use AI and corrections log.

How this page was madeSources, processing, limits, review and changes

Processing

  • Complaints are counted per component. One complaint can list several, so component totals add up to more than the total.
  • Fuel cost = miles per year ÷ EPA combined mpg × EIA weekly price for your region.

Limitations

  • Complaint counts are owner reports, not verified findings or failure rates. There is no sales denominator.
  • Recall campaigns are listed for the model year. Only NHTSA and the automaker know whether a specific car was repaired.
  • Recent model years are still collecting reports.

Review

Researched by Daniel B. and Olivia C., technical check by Ethan B., edited by Sophia M. (see the editorial team page). Drafted with AI assistance and checked against primary sources by the Recalls & Safety desk.

Changelog

  • 2026-10-06 Data refreshed from the official files.

Keep reading